Two Gasps and a Snarl

face1.jpg

face2.jpg

snarl.jpg

I love drawing extremes of facial expression. Here are a few from one of my sketch books. I gave myself the task of doing a straight pen-and-ink drawing with no pre-penciling. I was pretty happy with the results. I used some old black-and-white photos I found online as reference. That’s the great thing about image searches…you can find all kinds of reference material! All hail the internet!

3 Responses to “Two Gasps and a Snarl”

  1. william Says:

    keep it up man, very entertaining site, love the illustrations.

  2. doodlepack Says:

    I love these drawings. That 2nd one looks like a Rockwell. Is it a Rockwell? Tell me its a Rockwell. Its gotta be a Rockwell. Now I’m begging to know lol

  3. jaggedsmile Says:

    Thanks. Actually, the reference shot I used for this was an old black-and-white photo from an advertisement, but I see what you’re saying about its Rockwellesque mood. It was from the ’40s, so his work probably influenced the art director of the ad.

Leave a Reply

