A Pondering

pondering.jpg

So…. today is “Blog Action Day“, where every single person on the planet will post a blog about the environment simultaneously. In doing so, we will patch up the ozone layer, save the whales, completely eradicate all greenhouse gases, cure problem teenage acne, and somehow, through the miracle that is the internet, help me find that digital camera I lost last summer.

Sorry. Got a little carried away there.

I don’t mean to sound cynical here, and I do believe that it is VERY important that I be a good steward of my piece of this little floating ball of rock we call home, but do campaigns like this really make a difference? Will anyone not already on the bandwagon really have their viewpoint changed by a wave of pro-environment blogging?

We’re inundated at every turn by information (both accurate and wildly inaccurate) about the environment, arguments as to whether or not it’s really messed up, reasons why it is or isn’t, and ways to fix it…or if it can be fixed. Most people are probably to the point of compassion fatigue when it comes to the subject; they don’t have any more emotional energy to give, and thus shut out any further thought regarding it. A similar phenomenon happened in the weeks following September 11th.

All that being said (and I hope you’ve bothered to read this far), I do hope that those so inclined will take a moment today to consider all the ways they’ve been blessed, and use their available skills, talents and resources to be good stewards of the chunk of this rock they’ve been given.

We can’t change others’ morals or hearts, we can only exhibit our own.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A Pondering”

  1. eclexia Says:

    This was my favorite blog action day post. I didn’t see a lot, but had I, I think this still would have been my favorite. More information on this topic does tend to overload me, and as you said, that’s not a good thing, because then I want to block it out and not think about it at all.
    What a good (and doable) way you’ve articulated to approach caring about the environment–stop and think about our blessings and then use my available skills, talents and resources to make a difference–I obviously can’t use someone else’s resources, but get guilted into trying sometimes!

  2. jaggedsmile Says:

    Thanks, eclexia.

  3. robtsou Says:

    Happy Blog Action Day! You’ve been busy sir. Unfortunately I did not decide to blog until after BAD was over but such is life. Sorry I missed you today.

  4. Cameron Says:

    The text-to-doodle ratio here is a bit out of proportion. It makes me uncomfortable.

    Actually, I really appreciate your thoughts. Thanks.

  5. jaggedsmile Says:

    Sorry ;P.

    I’ll be more careful next time. Would hate to think I had upset the delicate doodle/text ratio of the cosmos.

  6. ebrown Says:

    Good post — glad to see you adding a little more commentary to your blog. You know I agree with you about stewardship. We are each responsible for what we do and how we act.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment